Practicing law for over 25 years, R. Laree McGuire is proficient in all phases of litigation from discovery to trial as well as the appellate process. Laree’s practice focuses on condominium and community association law, commercial litigation, construction litigation, real property and real estate litigation, arbitration and mediation, foreclosure law and civil appellate advocacy. Her educational background in business combined with her legal expertise enables her to counsel clients on the best course of action, satisfying clients’ business and legal objectives concurrently.

Laree is a member of the Hawaii State Bar Association, Community Associations Institute (CAI) Hawaii’s Legislative Action Committee, Hawaii Women Lawyers and Hastings Institute of Trial Advocacy and serves as a Director on the Board of Hawaii Council of Community Associations and as the Chairperson for the Legislative Action Committee (LAC). She routinely speaks at seminars, educating property managers and community associations on new areas of the law. Additionally, many of her legal opinions on covenant and contract law have been published by the Hawaii Supreme Court and the Hawaii Intermediate Court of Appeals.

Prior to co-founding PMK, Laree was a partner at Porter Tom Quitiquit Chee & Watts and an associate at Ning Lilly & Jones where she concentrated on construction, real estate, and association litigation, including civil appeals.

Drawn by great surf, Laree moved from Oklahoma to the North Shore of Oahu, Hawaii. In 1986, she graduated with a B.B.A. from the University of Hawaii. Interested in both law and business, she went on to receive a J.D. from William S. Richardson School of Law and a M.B.A. from the Shidler College of Business at the University of Hawaii. Following graduation from law school, Laree served as a law clerk to the Honorable Frank D. Padgett, Associate Justice at the Hawaii Supreme Court. When Justice Padgett retired, she clerked for the Honorable Corinne K.A. Watanabe, Associate Judge at the Hawaii Intermediate Court of Appeals.